Arc · Book Reviews

Book Review(ARC): Mer – Joelle Sellner

Mer

★★★

Book – Mer
Author – Joelle Sellner
Illustrator- Abby Boeh.
Genre – Graphic Novel (Fantasy)
Expected publication- April 19th 2017
Publisher- Diamond Book Distributors


*I got this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review



Goodreads Review
Mer

General  Thoughts:

A story about Mermaids? Yes Please.
I absolutely love reading about merfolks, other magical sea creatures and myths.


Plot Summary:

Aryn and her family has moved to a new town for a fresh start. She lost her mother recently, and is trying to make new friends. A hot guy of the school, starts to like her instantly, who apparently isn’t human. There are also some dark forces who might be dangerous to her.

Things I liked:

  • The artwork and illustrations were phenomenal, I really liked how the coloring is mainly blue, keeping the theme together. I also liked how there are character illustrations at the end of the book, along with some mer-myths, which made it really interesting for a nerd like me.
  • I liked the character development, especially Aryn’s and Adrian’s. The first few pages of the book, already made me empathize with Aryn, and i found it harder to put the book down.
  • I like how the book has a potential book merchandize too, and i totally want to get my hands on it. ( and pretend i am a mermaid too :p)
  • The story was a bit too predictable until the end which blew me away,  and i totally liked the whole idea of Atlantis .

Things I didn’t like:

  • Like i said, the story was a little too predictable at the beginning, but it did manage to take me by surprise. Also, i kind of wanted a little more on Aryn and Adrian’s love story which was too instant. ( The Author could potentially add a few more pages)
  • Personally If i got to know someone was a mermaid or not a normal human being i would not just accept it, like i would have a little freakout session at least, which i guess lacked in the story.

It was a quick read, and i would recommend this to someone that likes mermaid stories.


Leave a Reply

